Search
Close this search box.

Who we are

The GA is the subject association for teachers of geography and a registered charity. As a professional community, our activities are driven by teachers and members, many of whom freely volunteer their time and expertise in support of the GA. The GA is overseen by its Governing Body and our educational activities are supported by volunteers from the GA Education Group.

  • Governing Body– has overall responsibility for the GA and its current and future well-being. The Governing Body is responsible for the stewardship of the GA in accordance with the law and the GA’s charitable objectives. Members of the Governing Body are trustees of the charity and the majority are elected directly by the membership.
  • Education Group– oversees our Early Years/Primary, Secondary, Post 16/HE and Teacher Education Phase Committees, along with our Special Interest Groups and Communications Boards.
  • Chief Executive – has special responsibility for strategic planning and development, the future growth of the Association, external relations and income generation.

Our people

The GA’s professional staff, based at headquarters, run the day-to-day operation of the Association under the leadership of the Chief Executive. The Association also benefits from the guidance of our Honorary Vice Presidents. 

Steve Brace

Steve Brace – Chief Executive

sbrace@geography.org.uk

Ricky Buck – Executive Assistant to Chief Executive
rbuck@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
Chief Executive enquiries, GA archives, Primary Resource Collection and GA Awards.

CPD and events

Rebecca Kitchen – Head of Professional Development
rkitchen@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
CPD, secondary projects and curriculum leadership matters.
Download: Rebecca’s biography

Jon Cannell – Primary Curriculum Leader
jcannell@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
Primary projects and curriculum leadership matters.
Download: Jon’s biography

Julie Beattie – Administrator
jbeattie@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
All general enquiries relating to the GA and its Branches, committees and Special Interest Groups, Quality Mark awards and Consultants to the GA.

Isabel Richardson – Events Co-ordinator
irichardson@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
Events and CPD.

Research engagement

Dan Whittall – Research Engagement Lead
dwhittall@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
Matters relating to education research.

Christine Winter – Research Engagement Lead
cwinter@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
Matters relating to education research.

Publications, sales and journals

Elaine Anderson – Head of Publishing
eanderson@geography.org.uk
Contact for: 
Teaching Geography, GA Magazine, general journal and publishing enquiries.

Dorcas Brown – Senior Production Editor
dbrown@geography.org.uk
Contact for: Geography, resource reviews, copyright permissions, publications production.

Anna Grandfield – Senior Production Editor
anna@geography.org.uk
Contact for: 
Primary Geography, resource reviews, publications production.

Kathryn Newbold – Editorial Assistant
knewbold@geography.org.uk
Contact for: General publications and website enquiries.

Website

Emmalene Thomas – Web Editor
ethomas@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
All login and other website queries.

Membership, marketing and sales

Mark Goddard – Membership Manager
mgoddard@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
All membership enquiries.

Liam Byrne – Membership Services Administrator
lbyrne@geography.org.uk
Contact for: 
Membership enquiries.

Esther Adebayo – Marketing Co-ordinator
eadebayo@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
All marketing enquiries.

Finance and operations

Alex Forsyth – Finance and Operations Manager
aforsyth@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
Financial and business enquiries.

Sue Clarke – Accounts Administrator
sclarke@geography.org.uk
Contact for:
Accounts enquiries including accounts receivable.

Become a member

GA membership provides specialist support and expert advice for geography teaching

Geography Quality Marks

Register for the 2025 Quality Mark before 31 July and receive a 20% discount off your fee

National Festival of Fieldwork 2024

The GA encourages everyone to take part in June 2024