Close this search box.

SGQM awardees and news articles

Guiseley School, 2023


The awards are sent to schools in September each year and are also presented to attending teachers at the GA Annual Conference Awards ceremony in April each year.

The SGQM is valid for three years. You can see who has been awarded the SGQM during the last three years through the links below:

2023 awardees

2022 awardees

2021 awardees


SGQM in the news

The SGQM Award is not only a great tool to develop and improve geography in your school, it is also an excellent way to celebrate what is being achieved by teachers and pupils alike. The SGQM can also be an ideal opportunity to raise the profile of your department inside and outside of school.

Here are some of the schools that have appeared in the local press thanks to the SGQM.

A high level of geography education has led to an award for Felpham Community CollegeSussex World (29.09.22)

Students with certificates
The geography department at Felpham Community College has won an award.

Joy as Sheffield secondary school scoops national award for work in geography – The Sheffield Star (30.09.20)

North East School Awarded Top Teaching Accreditation – Newcastle Magazine (23.09.20)

Witton Park Academy wins Secondary Quality Mark – Lancashire Telegraph (01.10.19)

Students with certificates
Teachers and pupils of Witton Park Academy

Threshfield school wins geography award for second timeCraven Herald and Pioneer (27.10.16)

Hitchin school wins top honour for its quality teaching The Comet (07.10.16)

Highbridge’s King Alfred School achieves geography excellence statusBurnham-On-Sea (06.10.16)

Geography teaching praised at Blessed Edward Oldcorne Catholic CollegeWorcester News (06.10.16)

Kendal school’s geography department awarded ‘excellence’ statusThe Westmoorland Gazette (01.10.16)

Pewsey Vale School geography department awarded for excellenceGazette and Herald (27.09.16)

Third excellence award for geography at Commonweal Swindon Adviser (23.09.16)

If your school has appeared in the local news, send us a link and we’ll add it to this page.


2023 awardees

Secondary Geography Quality Mark (SGQM) schools with Centre of Excellence status:

Cambourne Village College, Cambridge
Castle Rushen High School, Isle of Man
Chislehurst School for Girls, Chislehurst
Field Studies Centre, Birmingham
Field Studies Centre, Margam
Kingsthorpe College, Northampton
Meols Cop High School, Southport
Reading School, Reading
The Mountbatten School, Romsey


The 2023 SGQM awardees are:

All Saints Catholic College, Huddersfield
Ballyclare High School, Ballyclare
Bristol Free School, Brentry
Corby Technical School, Corby
Corpus Christi Catholic High School, Preston
Dronfield Henry Fanshawe School, Dronfield
Firth Park Academy, Sheffield
Forge Valley School, Sheffield
Guiseley School, Guiseley
Kellett School, Hong Kong
Moor End Academy, Huddersfield
Pershore High School, Pershore
Queen Elizabeth II High School, Isle of Man
St Joseph’s Catholic Academy, Hebburn
St Mary’s School, Cambridge
Trinity Academy, Halifax


2022 awardees

Secondary Geography Quality Mark (SGQM) schools with Centre of Excellence status:

Blackpool Aspire Academy, Blackpool
Cardinal Allen Catholic High School, Fleetwood
Felpham Community College, Felpham
Fettes College, Edinburgh
FSC London
FSC Castle Head
FSC Dale Fort
FSC Epping Forest
FCS Preston Montford
Greenbank High School, Southport
Painsley Catholic College, Cheadle
Putney High School, Putney
Royal Hospital School, Ipswich
St. Gregory’s Catholic College, Bath
King Alfred School Academy, Highbridge


The 2022 SGQM awardees are:

Baines School, Poulton Le Fylde
Birches Head Academy, Stoke On Trent
Bishop Stopford School, Kettering
Cardinal Heenan Catholic High School, West Derby
Cardinal Langley RC High School, Middleton
Chatham and Clarendon Grammar School, Ramsgate
Christs College, Guildford
Cockburn School, Beeston
Cramlington Learning Village, Cramlington
Endon High School, Endon
Fleetwood High School, Fleetwood
Kingswood Academy, Hull
Longsands Academy, St Neots
Northampton Academy, Northampton
Oakfield Academy, Frome
Ormiston Shelfield Community Academy, Pelsall
Paignton Academy, Paignton
Pilton Community College, Barnstable
Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Ashbourne
Range High School, Formby
Sirius Academy West, Hull
Southam College, Southam
St Thomas the Apostle College, Nunhead
The Ladies’ College Guernsey, St. Peter Port
The Thetford Academy, Thetford
Witton Park Academy, Blackburn
Westminster Academy, London


2021 awardees

Secondary Geography Quality Mark (SGQM) schools with Centre of Excellence status:

British International School Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Brooke Weston Academy, Corby
Chichester High School, Chichester
Framlingham College, Framlingham
FSC Blencathra, Keswick
FSC Central HQ- Preston Montford, Preston Montford
FSC Flatford Mill, Colchester
FSC Juniper, Mickleham
FSC Nettlecombe Court, Williton
FSC Rhyd-y-creuau, Betws-y-coed
FSC Slapton Ley, Kingsbridge
International School of Toulouse, France
John Ruskin School, Coniston
Ousedale School, Newport Pagnell
The Portsmouth Grammar School, Portsmouth
Upper Wharfedale School, Skipton
West Island School, Hong Kong


The 2021 SGQM awardees are:

Belle Vue Girls Academy, Bradford
Bradford Forster Academy, Bradford
Brockington College, Enderby
Co-op Academy Manchester, Higher Blackley
Eltham College, Mottingham
Haberdashers’ Aske’s School for Girls, Elstree
Hadley Learning Community, Hadley
Haven High Academy (Voyage Education Partnership), Boston
King Richard School, Cyprus
Lasswade High School, Bonnyrigg
Millais School, Horsham
Norton Canes High School, Norton Canes
Pencoedtre High School, Barry, Wales
Taipei European School Foundation, Taiwan
The Hazeley Academy, Hazeley
The Ravensbourne School, Bromley
The Wallace High School, Co Antrim
Trentham Academy, Stoke on Trent
Walton High School, Milton Keynes

Become a member

GA membership provides specialist support and expert advice for geography teaching

Events & CPD

Browse our wide range of free and paid-for CPD and upcoming events

National Festival of Fieldwork 2024

The GA encourages everyone to take part in June 2024