GA Branches

Ocean Academy field trip to sea

There are a number of branches nationwide and internationally that are affiliated to the Geographical Association. GA branches are all different but generally host lectures and events for geography teachers and secondary students.

If you have any questions about setting up a branch or running a branch, please contact Rob Morris – Branches Networking Officer.

Zoom into the map to find branches within a region. If there isn’t already a branch near you and you’re interested in setting one up, find out how to set up a branch here.

You can find out what events GA Branches and other GA networks have coming up by looking at our Networking Calendar.

GA Branches

Become a member

GA membership provides specialist support and expert advice for geography teaching

Quality Marks

Register for the 2025 Quality Mark before 31 July and receive a 20% discount off your fee

National Festival of Fieldwork 2024

The GA encourages everyone to take part in June 2024

Region Branch name Contact E-mail Further Information
East Midlands Cambridge Keith Hicks khicks@ccc.tela.org.uk X: @CambGA
East Midlands Derby Dawn Fox derbyGAbranch@derby.ac.uk Branch page
East Midlands South Lincolnshire (GeoLincs) Aidan Hesslewood AHesslewood@spaldinggrammar.lincs.sch.uk GeoLincs site
East Midlands Lincoln Peter Penn peterpenn@ntlworld.com
East Midlands Nottingham Mary Biddulph Mary.Biddulph@nottingham.ac.uk Branch page
East Midlands South Derbyshire Tom Howell thowell@repton.org.uk Branch page
East of England Milton Keynes Emma Laurence Emma.Laurence@ousedale.org.uk
East of England Norfolk Douglas Walters dmw200204@hotmail.com
International Kampala Catherine Owen cowen@tkasa.org.uk Branch page
Isle of Man Emma Metcalfe Emma.Metcalfe@sch.im Branch information
London East London Catherine Nash c.nash@qmul.ac.uk QMUL site
London South London (Harris Academy) Elizabeth Butler Elizabeth.Butler@harrisfederation.org.uk
London Kingston-Upon-Thames (Hampton School) Rachel Kugele R.Kugele@hamptonschool.org.uk
London Twickenham (St Marys Uni) Sophie Wilson sophie.wilson@stmarys.ac.uk
London Wimbledon Nicola Higgs Nicola.Higgs@wim.gdst.net
North East Tyne and Wear Brenda Turnbull gatynewear@gmail.com Branch page
North West Chester Gill Miller g.miller@chester.ac.uk Branch page
North West Cumbria and North Lancashire Simon Carr simon.carr@cumbria.ac.uk
North West Manchester Paul Douglas p.douglas@cromptonhouse.org Manchester branch Facebook page
Northern Ireland Belfast Margaret McMullan mmcmullan@ccea.org.uk Branch page
South East Berkhamsted Jonny Bruce jbruce@berkhamsted.com
South East Brighton and District John Whilde johnwhilde1963@gmail.com Branch page
South East Guildford Ruth Waters RGW@rgsg.co.uk
South East Hampshire Tansy Gill tgill@psc.ac.uk Branch page
South East High Weald - Tunbridge Wells Chris Adams cadams@mayfieldgirls.org
South East Oxford Garrett Nagle nagelg@stedwardsoxford.org Branch page
South West Bristol Gary Atterton garryatterton@hotmail.com Branch page
South West Dorset (Talbot Heath School) Liz Atkins eatkins@talbotheath.org Branch page
South West Gloucester Emma Espley emma.espley@googlemail.com Branch page
South West South Devon Helen Fyfe HVFYFE@tbgs.torbay.sch.uk Branch page
West Midlands Birmingham KEGS Robert Lang r.lang@kechg.org.uk Branch page
West Midlands Black Country Emma Gobourn emmagobourn@aol.com
West Midlands Central Bedford (Wootton Upper School) Suzy Pykett suzy.pykett@hotmail.co.uk
West Midlands North Staffordshire Bob Jones robertgjones@yahoo.com Branch page
West Midlands Worcestershire Katie Amey and Hannah Brayne kamey@chantryschool.com; brayneh@hanleycastlehs.org.uk Worcester branch Facebook page
Yorkshire and the Humber Huddersfield and Halifax Ian Whittle ianwhittle3@gmail.com Branch page
Yorkshire and the Humber Sheffield Tom Highnett tomhighnett@gmail.com Branch page
Yorkshire and the Humber York and District (Bootham School) Liz Brown Brownl@boothamschool.com Branch page

 GA Branches

Region Branch name Contact E-mail Further information
East Midlands Cambridge Keith Hicks khicks@ccc.tela.org.uk

Twitter – @CambGA

Further information

East Midlands Derby Dawn Fox derbyGAbranch@derby.ac.uk Further information
East Midlands South Lincolnshire (GeoLincs) Aidan Hesslewood AHesslewood@spaldinggrammar.lincs.sch.uk GeoLincs website
East Midlands Lincoln Peter Penn peterpenn@ntlworld.com  
East Midlands Nottingham Mary Biddulph Mary.Biddulph@nottingham.ac.uk Nottingham Branch website
East Midlands South Derbyshire Tom Howell thowell@repton.org.uk Further information
East of England Milton Keynes Emma Laurence Emma.Laurence@ousedale.org.uk  
East of England Norfolk Douglas Walters dmw200204@hotmail.com  
International Kampala Catherine Owen cowen@tkasa.org.uk Further information
Isle of Man Isle of Man Emma Metcalfe Emma.Metcalfe@sch.im Further information
London East London Catherine Nash c.nash@qmul.ac.uk

QMUL website

Further information

London South London (Harris Academy) Elizabeth Butler Elizabeth.Butler@harrisfederation.org.uk  
London Kingston-Upon-Thames (Hampton School) Rachel Kugele R.Kugele@hamptonschool.org.uk  
London Twickenham (St Marys Uni) Sophie Wilson sophie.wilson@stmarys.ac.uk  
London Wimbledon Nicola Higgs Nicola.Higgs@wim.gdst.net  
North East Tyne and Wear Brenda Turnbull gatynewear@gmail.com Further information
North West Chester Gill Miller g.miller@chester.ac.uk Further information
North West Cumbria & North Lancashire Simon Carr simon.carr@cumbria.ac.uk  
North West Manchester Paul Douglas p.douglas@cromptonhouse.org

Further information

Manchester Branch Facebook

Northern Ireland Belfast Margaret McMullan mmcmullan@ccea.org.uk Further information
South East Berkhamsted Jonny Bruce  jbruce@berkhamsted.com  
South East Brighton and District John Whilde  johnwhilde1963@gmail.com Further information
South East Guildford Ruth Waters  RGW@rgsg.co.uk  
South East Hampshire Tansy Gill tgill@psc.ac.uk

Hampshire Branch Website

Hampshire Branch Facebook

Further information

South East High Weald – Tunbridge Wells Chris Adams cadams@mayfieldgirls.org  
South East Oxford Garrett Nagle nagleg@stedwardsoxford.org Further information
South West Bristol Garry Atterton garryatterton@hotmail.com

Bristol Branch website

Bristol Branch Facebook

Further information

South West Dorset (Talbot Heath School) Liz Atkins eatkins@talbotheath.org Further information
South West Gloucester Emma Espley emma.espley@googlemail.com Further information
South West South Devon Helen Fyfe HVFYFE@tbgs.torbay.sch.uk Further information
West Midlands Birmingham KEGS Robert Lang r.lang@kechg.org.uk Further information
West Midlands Black Country Emma Gobourn emmagobourn@aol.com  
West Midlands Central Bedford (Wootton Upper School) Suzy Pykett suzy.pykett@hotmail.co.uk  
West Midlands North Staffordshire Bob Jones robertgjones@yahoo.com Further information
West Midlands Shropshire Oliver Russell ojr@shrewsbury.org.uk  
West Midlands Worcestershire

Katie Amey

Hannah Brayne

kamey@chantryschool.com

brayneh@hanleycastlehs.org.uk

Worcestershire Branch Facebook
Yorkshire and the Humber Huddersfield and Halifax Ian Whittle ianwhittle3@gmail.com Further information
Yorkshire and the Humber Sheffield Tom Highnett tomhighnett@gmail.com Further information
Yorkshire and the Humber York & District (Bootham School)  Liz Brown Brownl@boothamschool.com  Further information